State Data Breach Laws

The following states currently have some form of a data breach law in effect:

  • California: Passed: September 2001
  • Colorado: Passed: June 2005
  • Connecticut: Passed: June 2005
  • Delaware: Passed: June 2005
  • Florida: Passed: April 2006
  • Hawaii: Passed: April 2006
  • Illinois: Passed: May 2006
  • Kansas: Passed: April 2006
  • Kentucky: Passed: March 2006
  • Louisiana: Passed: 2004
  • Maine: Passed: May 2005
  • Minnesota: Passed: May 2006
  • Nevada: Passed: June 2005
  • New Hampshire: Passed: May 2006
  • New Jersey: Passed: September 2005
  • New York: Passed: June 2006
  • Oklahoma: Passed: May 2006
  • North Carolina: Passed: September 2005
  • Rhode Island: Passed: June 2006
  • South Dakota: Passed: March 2006
  • Texas: Passed: June 2003
  • Utah: Passed: March 2006
  • Vermont: Passed: June 2004
  • Washington: Passed: May 2005
  • Wisconsin: Passed: March 2006

Florida State Data Breach Law

HB 481, Effective July 2005

The State of Florida requires notice to consumers of a material breach in the security, confidentiality or integrity of computerized, unencrypted, personal information held by a person who conducts business in the state. Companies have 45 days from the breach for the notice to be given, otherwise facing up to a $500,000 fine for each violation.